"Visit the Sick, Relieve the Distressed, Bury the Dead, and Educate the Orphan." One of many fraternal orders established in the 19th and early 20th centuries, the Independent Order of Odd Fellows provided spaces for mutual support and community engagement, fulfilling the Odd Fellows' mission. The Thurmont Lodge No. 46 of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows was established in Emmitsburg on October 23, 1845, and was then relocated to Mechanicstown (Thurmont) in 1848. The organizations occupied a building at 105 East Main Street, which still stands today, albeit with some additions.
Here is an interesting brochure from 1912 about the Thurmont IOOF. This brochure gives a report of the financial operations and improvements to the building made in 1912. It was in 1912 that the building took on the appearance we see today. Over the years, the building has housed numerous businesses on its first floor, while the IOOF operated from the second floor. Today, the first floor is home to Thurmont Family Dentistry, and the second floor has apartments. In years past, the first floor hosted the Mechanistown Academy, National Manufacturing Co., Trout's Market, Western Auto, and others.
This is the front cover of the brochure presented to the membership in January 1912. Note the list of officers, all of whom are from well-known families in Mechanicstown (Thurmont).
